non-verbal communication

Non-Verbal communication, I feel, is communicating without speaking. Types of non-verbal communication that we went through include the following:

  • eye contact – looking at the speaker in the eye. (shows great interest in the speaker)
  • posture – the way you sit/ stand. (by standing with weight on one leg or sitting and shaking your feet, may seem that you are disinterested or impatient)
  • paralinguistic – the way you speak, voice quality. (slurring, may result in the listener to become disinterested)
  • personal grooming – attire. eg: an un-ironed office wear. (negative impression, boss may feel that you are sloppy, and will not produce good results at work)
  • artefacts – things that we buy. eg: a keychain that shows a cartoon character. on a business suitcase. (negative impression, the client may feel that you are not reliable/ immature)
4 thoughts on “non-verbal communication

  1. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, fantastic site!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. naturally like your web-site but you have to take a look at the spelling on quite a
    few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very bothersome to inform the truth on the other
    hand I will definitely come again again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

